A Birthday Wish

Today my nephew turned six years old. He is growing up too fast and I feel the velocity of his maturing at much greater intensity because of the distance that separates us. I vaguely remember being his age but if he has inherited anything from me I hope it is my curiosity and desire to understand why things are the way they are. At his age, I wanted to understand the reasoning behind rules like having to eat everything on my plate when I was full, getting a boy’s hair cut so that my hair could grow long, or having to nap in the middle of the day when everyone else to be awake. My nephew is passionate about planes, cars, and anything on wheels, and he too is questioning why he has to go to bed when everyone else is up and about – so smart!

My beautiful nephew is growing up as an active, curious, inquisitive, courageous and confident little boy. His mom and dad get a lot of credit for creating an environment where their children feel safe, cared for and important. Today, my nephew and 17 of his closest friends enjoyed a fun celebration which I got to see in pictures. There were a lot of games, noise, toys and sugar, like any proper birthday celebration should be! I just wish I could have been there in person. In honor of his turning six, I think I will eat six chocolate kisses before the day is done.

For my nephew – I wish that the world will treat you kindly, that you will always have what you need, and more, and that you will forever be guided and protected by God’s love, peace and light.

Much Love

Leave a Reply

